There are many significant consequences that come with a DUI conviction, in addition to the typically associated probation, jail time, and fines. One such consequence that many people do not think of is the insurance rate hike you will undoubtedly face in the State of Florida.
In Florida, Florida’s No-Fault Law requires vehicle owners to maintain minimum coverage of $10,000 Personal Injury Protection (PIP), $20,000 per occurrence, and $10,000 Property Damage Liability insurance. However, if you are convicted of a DUI, the State of Florida will require you to have FR-44 insurance before you can reinstate your license (in addition to other reinstatement fees), which can increase your insurance rates 200%-300%. The insurance companies will flag you as “high risk” and may have the option of cancelling your policy or refusing to reinstate altogether.
FR-44 (financial responsibility insurance) requires a driver to purchase and maintain additional increased liability insurance for a period of 3 years when the driver is found guilty, or enters a plea of guilty or no contest, for DUI. The increased requirements are 100/300/50: $100,000, bodily injury or death liability insurance per person, $300,000 for similar liability for two or more persons in any one crash, and $50,000 property damage liability.
Anyone who is facing DUI charges in in Palm Beach County, Florida, whether it is the first time DUI charge or a second DUI charge or more, should contact a criminal defense attorney experienced in Driving Under the Influence charges to explain the full ramifications that you may be facing and review the case for any possible defenses.
Casey Reiter is an attorney at Greenspoon Marder Law in West Palm Beach, Florida, practicing in the areas of Criminal Defense, Family Law, and Appellate Law.